My goal is to raise enough funds to allow JJ to go to his happy place for the next year , please join me and support now! 

I will be walking 10k a day for the month of May for JJ.

FINAL UPDATE:

As you know for the last 31 days I have completed my challenge of a 10km hike/walk every day for the month of May not including daily steps. I have walked hills in Kilternan to mountains in Offaly. I am delighted to say that due to everyone’s amazing support between messages and donations I have doubled my target amount and raised a whopper €2002! To say I am delighted is an understatement! I had the pleasure of meeting JJ and his lovely family for one of my last 10k walks. A special thank you to them for my gorgeous flowers and fancy sanitizer, it smells divine! JJ was telling me how much he loves the farm and that he is fixing up a tractor with the farmer Vincent. I am especially thrilled to learn that the amount that everyone has donated can cover JJ to go to his happy place for almost a year. Thank you again! Sonya x

UPDATE 2:

Hi Everyone! I'm getting on well 10k every day (not including my daily steps), always looking for new routes. Few rainy days and blisters along the way but worth every bit of it. Loving the walks and I have been from Carrickmines to Kilternan, Cabinteely, Dun Laoghaire, Wicklow and even got to Offaly beside the Slieve Bloom over the weekend. I have had some company along the way from my mam to some friends and my hubby and grateful for everyone’s support. We are organising for one of the last 10k trips to do together on Saturday 29th and I am looking forward to it! Thanks again for all your donations! Sonya x See Jamie's story below.

UPDATE 1:

Hi everybody, I just want to say a massive thank you! to everyone who has donated so far we have raised €900 which is amazing!! Lets keep going for JJ. I started on Saturday (1st May) here are couple of photo's from my walks I will post more updates throughout May. Please share this fundraiser with your friends and family. Sonya x                                                                       

 Jet Joined me on walks       

 

Some friends I met 

Jamie's Story

Jamie Jones (JJ) is 38 years old very friendly and caring about the staff that work with him, in our supported living services, and he also has a great sense of humour, he has a moderate level intellectual disability. 

At weekends from Friday lunchtime to Sunday evening he returns to his family home where he is looked after by his Mother. His family environment is a caring and loving one. JJs mothers is heavily involved in JJs life and wants JJ to lead a happy and meaningful life.


While JJ is talkative, he can also be shy, but very sociable to staff that care for him.

The one activity and location where JJ is comfortable without staff being in his immediate environment and where he has made positive relationships is the social farm in Summerhill.

Without doubt this is the highlight of JJs week. JJ will talk about Vincent's farm throughout the week and all the things he has done at the farm. Vincent is the farm owner is a warm and empathetic person who works very well and constructively with JJ. JJ is very comfortable in his company and holds Vincent in such high esteem. During his time at the social farm Vincent will make JJ a healthy organic lunch and talk to JJ about a healthy nutritious diet. They walk through the farm and complete various tasks and little jobs supported by Vincent. These tasks include feeding animals , cleaning of barns and stables and supporting Vincent with fixing various machines around the farm. 

One of these projects includes the refurbishment of a tractor. JJs carers are really happy that JJ is now attending the social farm for two days and especially on the Wednesday whereby JJ is receiving more individualised support and training. Unfortunately the cost for JJ attending the farm on the Wednesday and Thursday combined with weekly living expenditures is not financially affordable for JJ. 

Sonya Teeling